FYI Friday: Dates to Avoid in 2014 & 2015

Many couples choose to avoid holding their wedding on holidays, because of concern that guests won’t be able to attend due to longstanding travel plans. Holiday weekends can also be more expensive because vendors can be extra busy with other non-wedding events (think florists on Mother’s Day or caterers on Thanksgiving). You’ll also want to steer clear of major sporting events or other big national or local events – and traditionally “unlucky” days, like Friday the 13th. Trust us, your guests and your wedding vendors will appreciate your thoughtfulness and attention to this detail. Check out our list of dates that you might want to avoid for your wedding day:

New Year’s Day:  Thursday, January 1, 2015 Martin Luther King Jr. Day: Monday, January 19, 2015 Super Bowl Sunday: Sunday, February 1, 2015 (especially in Phoenix/Glendale, Arizona area) Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 16, 2015 Academy Awards: Sunday, March 2, 2014 and Sunday, February 22, 2015 (especially in Los Angeles!) April Fool’s Day: Tuesday, April 1, 2014; Wednesday, April 1, 2015 Final Four: Saturday, April 5, and ,Monday April 7, 2014; Saturday, April 4 (especially in Arlington, Texas), and Monday, April 6 (especially if you’re in Indianapolis, Indiana!) Palm Sunday: Sunday, April 13, 2014; Sunday, March 29, 2015 Passover: Monday, April 14, 2014 through Tuesday, April 22, 2014; Friday, April 3, 2015 through Saturday, April 11, 2014 Easter: Sunday, April 20, 2014; Sunday, April 5, 2015 Mother’s Day: Sunday, May 11, 2014; Sunday, May 10, 2015 Memorial Day: Monday, May 26, 2014; Monday, May 25, 2015 Friday the 13th: Friday, June 13, 2014; Friday, February 13, 2015; Friday, March 13, 2015; Friday, November 13, 2015 Father’s Day: Sunday, June 15, 2014; Sunday, June 21, 2015 Fourth of July: Friday, July 4, 2014; Saturday, July 4, 2015 Labor Day: Monday, September 1, 2014; Monday, September 7, 2015 Rosh Hashanah: Starts the evening of Wednesday, September 24, 2014 and ends the evening of Friday, September 26, 2014; Starts the evening of Sunday, September 13, 2015 and ends the evening of Tuesday, September 15, 2015 Yom Kippur: Starts the evening of Friday, October 3, 2014 and ends the evening of Saturday, October 4, 2014; Starts the evening of Tuesday, September 22, 2015, and ends the evening of Wednesday, September 23, 2015 Columbus Day: Monday, October 13, 2015; Monday, October 12, 2015 Halloween: Friday, October 31, 2014; Saturday, October 31, 2015 Veterans Day: Tuesday, November 11, 2014; Wednesday, November 11, 2015 Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 27, 2014; Thursday, November 26, 2015 Christmas: Thursday, December 25, 2014; Friday, December 25, 2015 Kwanzaa: Friday, December 26, 2014 through Thursday, January 1, 2015; Saturday, December 26, 2014 through Friday, January 1, 2016

Happy Planning! Xx Danielle

(This article previously appeared on Wedding Wire)